need suggestions/ideas

LizardsimLizardsim Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited November 30, 2008 in People
Hi, everyone!
I'm a newbie here!
I have my first large family (3 families combined--10 people) photo shoot. We will be outdoors.
I have ideas floating around in my head, but would love some examples or ideas of how you've best photographed a large group like that.
Thanks for any input.
E.

Comments

• TrevlanTrevlan Registered Users Posts: 649 Major grins
    edited November 20, 2008
    Lizardsim wrote:
    Hi, everyone!
    I'm a newbie here!
    I have my first large family (3 families combined--10 people) photo shoot. We will be outdoors.
    I have ideas floating around in my head, but would love some examples or ideas of how you've best photographed a large group like that.
    Thanks for any input.
    E.

I would recommend three strobes in umbrellas. One to the group left, one at the camera and one at the camera right. I suggest using a 4th light, (the Sun) as like a back light. Depending on what focal length you are going to use, you'll need some space. A large group like that should fit nicely with a 22mm shot at like 10-15 feet away from them. If you don't have shoot through umbrellas, you'll need a few reflectors and some people to hold them for you.
    Frank Martinez
    Nikon Shooter
    It's all about the moment...
  • cj99sicj99si Registered Users Posts: 880 Major grins
    edited November 20, 2008
    I actually just shot a nightmare like that (3 family's 16 people) My client wanted all B and W's with some posed and some "action" non posed shots . I shot for about an hr and came away with about 100 keepers. I used a 70-200 2.8 and 10-22. It was midday and the sun was pretty harsh, I only used an onboard 550 for flash. If the main purpose was the group shot I would have set that up a little bit better.. There not my favorite but the client was very happy. Heres a few from that day.
    421194580_Q4RXy-L.jpg
    406480898_jHzNG-L.jpg