difference between 24-70L and 17-55

nikgonenikgone Registered Users Posts: 22 Big grins
edited November 22, 2008 in Cameras
Are there any major difference between 24-70L and 17-55 IS USM? their cost dont differ by ALOT...

BTW 40D IS PHUN! VERY PHUN. Although 28-135 doesn't really take good landscape pictures. Any suggestions for really ultra wide zoom lens? my composition still sucks and Im a poor student with no income heh.

I'm thinking of an ultra wide zoom because I THINK it can shoot the picture as if I am looking at the same place. My point is to take picture of this one place with alot of info and detail in that pic so that the person who sees my pic will get the same feeling as if he was at that very same place...Is that a good reason to buy ultra-wide zoom? sorry for my noob question

Comments

• pyrypyry Registered Users Posts: 1,733 Major grins
    edited November 21, 2008
    nikgone wrote:
    Are there any major difference between 24-70L and 17-55 IS USM? their cost dont differ by ALOT...

The 17-55 is the 24-70L for EF-S.
    Under the hood there's a trade between IS and weather sealing.

For a 40D I'd take the 17-55/2.8 IS every time - 24-70 is too long for it and the IS is nice to have. I shoot with one on a 20D, it's fantastic. :D
    Creativity's hard.

http://pyryekholm.kuvat.fi/
  • nikgonenikgone Registered Users Posts: 22 Big grins
    edited November 21, 2008
    DOH i still didn't learn the difference between EF and EF-S and what they mean. =(

24-70L is very hot...the lack of the red ring on 17-55 makes it "look" a little weak haha.

Wouldn't 17-55 a little...not too ultra-wide and not zoomed enough? but then again....there are no zoom lenses that can cover all the way from 10-200 without sacrificing quality...Guess im too idealistic
  • pyrypyry Registered Users Posts: 1,733 Major grins
    edited November 21, 2008
    nikgone wrote:
    DOH i still didn't learn the difference between EF and EF-S and what they mean. =(