Something new for me!

Greyhound RickGreyhound Rick Registered Users Posts: 75 Big grins
edited November 28, 2008 in People
Hello everyone!

Well......Im probably the most single subject photographer you will ever meet! Ive been shooting for a little over a year and 99% of my photos have been of greyhound racing! (Ive posted in the "Sports" forum a couple of times). Now its time to try some other things!

Im new to portraits and have a lot to learn, but its fun to try something different and I appreciate the opportunity to have you folks critique my shots.

Im thick skinned and actually enjoy my subpar areas brought to my attention. That way I can get better. So please dont worry about hurting my feelings. I welcome and respect your input very much!!smile.gif

I convinced our daughter Valerie to let me practice with her yesterday and we had fun. Sorry about the less than professional facial expressions and setting, but I wanted to see how my focus and lighting were.

I think I need to get more lighting into her eyes and as far as focus goes....well...Im never totally happy with my focus, but it seems to be pretty good.

I changed the exposure a bit and cropped in Capture NX but didnt do any other PP.

Thanks for your help and your comments!

3054616161_6ac0eff5bf_b.jpg

3055452966_87b0d05223_b.jpg

3055454878_d487d21701_b.jpg

thanks again for your time and help!

my best,

Rick
Make a fast friend. Adopt a greyhound!!

Comments

• ccherokeccheroke Registered Users Posts: 53 Big grins
    edited November 24, 2008
    I like the first pose but like the lighting in the third pose. But then again I am not an expert
    on portraits either. I do like the capture of a personality if possible too.
  • NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited November 24, 2008
    Rick,
    first of all, congratulations of getting out of rut:-)thumb.gif