Options

Best Software for RAW Images

RxRickRxRick Registered Users Posts: 93 Big grins
edited December 18, 2008 in Finishing School
Greetings. I recently bought a 50D and am in the process of learning how to shoot and process RAW files. I currently have the DPP software that came with the camera and I downloaded the ACR update for use with PS Elements 6. Both do amazing things. I shoot a fair amount of higher-speed and low-light stuff, so I also want the noise-reduction abilities that come with shooting higher ISO speeds in RAW. Before I spend a lot of time and money, is there a hands-down concensus on the best software to use? I've been reading about Noise Ninja (as a plug-in for Elements) and also about Aperture and Lightroom (I can get LR for $100 since I'm a teacher - Apple doesn't discount anything). Is there a concensus or is this one of those everybody-has-their-own-opinion kind of things?

--RxRick

Comments

• Options
    MarkRMarkR Registered Users Posts: 2,099 Major grins
    edited November 24, 2008
    You'll find most people on these boards use Lightroom and/or ACR, which should attest to the quality of Adobe's offerings.

Having said that, there are several top-notch raw converters out there:

Silkypix, Capture One, DXO, Bibble, Lightzone, just to name a few. Each one has its supporters and detractors. Luckily they all have free demos -- and that would be the best way to assess them, imho.

My preference is Bibble, which rightly puts lens correction and noise reduction (Noise Ninja plugin) at an early stage in the workflow, but then I use Lightzone for most of my creative work. Bibble 5 is expected "before the end of the year" and should clear up most of the UI wonkiness it often gets dinged for.
  • Options
    dlplumerdlplumer Registered Users Posts: 8,081 Major grins
    edited November 24, 2008
    If you have a Mac, I would strongly suggest Aperture.
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,699 moderator