Traveling westbound...

bandgeekndbbandgeekndb Registered Users Posts: 284 Major grins
edited November 25, 2008 in Cameras
Excuse me if this is the wrong place, but I gave up trying to classify it...I spent about 15 minutes deciding between this and the Journeys forum!

Anyway, this Christmas, I'm traveling to California for 2 weeks and it's the first real traveling I've done with my camera. I only have about a zillion questions, but here are my biggies. First, my current equipment is in my sig. I also have a laptop and external HD, tripod (not anything fancy, but it will do if necessary...I'm a student, RRS is out of my league!), and a monopod.

I am not opposed to renting, especially since I can probably avoid shipping, but I'd like to avoid extra costs if possible.

First, are there any lenses really missing from this lineup? I know the 55-200 and the 70-200 really overlap, but it's a long story. Anyway, is there something missing that would either completely keep me from, or truly hinder me in taking pictures?

Second, I'm assuming carry on all the way for equipment. I am desperately hoping to have a good gear bag by Christmas, otherwise I might have to go get one or rent for this trip! Even if carrying on, with all the crazy restrictions, what is the best way to avoid problems? Any precautions to avoid losing data to a security scanner?

Third, what are the best sites to see near San Francisco and Monterey. We are doing roughly a week in each and although I'm sure the family has some touristy stuff planned, I do get a voice in the travel plans, so I can add a few spots if you guys and gals suggest them!

I tried doing some searches, but the only one regarding airline stuff was circa '05...things have changed just a BIT since then :-D Also, got some ideas as to places to visit, but I still thought I'd ask and see what I get!

Thanks everyone! I always get great answers when I post here and I'm sure I'll get nothing but the best this time as well!

~Nick