Options

Resizing Issues?

DigitalDigital Registered Users Posts: 5 Beginner grinner
edited April 27, 2004 in Technique
I am new to digital...

I took a shot with my Olympus C5060 at the SHQ setting. Looks great. I resized it to make an Avatar (70x70 and 100x100, the more common sizes) and the definition looks crappy compared to what I had at full size.

My computer monitor isn't the weak link as I frequently come across thumbnails that show the greatest of detail.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Digital

Comments

• Options
    wxwaxwxwax Registered Users Posts: 15,471 Major grins
    edited April 25, 2004
    wave.gif Hi digital, welcome aboard. I eagerly await responses from our Photoshop gurus, as I have the same problem when resizing web pages for reposting.

While we wait, what software do you use? And does it have a "resample" box that you can check while you resize?
    Sid.
    Catapultam habeo. Nisi pecuniam omnem mihi dabis, ad caput tuum saxum immane mittam
    http://www.mcneel.com/users/jb/foghorn/ill_shut_up.au
  • Options
    edited April 25, 2004
    wxwax wrote:
    wave.gif Hi digital, welcome aboard. I eagerly await responses from our Photoshop gurus, as I have the same problem when resizing web pages for reposting.

While we wait, what software do you use? And does it have a "resample" box that you can check while you resize?
    Well I used what came with my Olympus C-5060 camera. I have Adobe Business Edition (forgot what it is called exactly), but I removed it after having some problems with it. I have to reload it...some day.

Someone gave me Photoshop, but I haven't installed it yet.

By "resample", what do you mean? Do you mean "preview" so that you can compare it to the original simply by clicking back and forth?

Do you see that pic at the top of the screen what looks like a 100 x 100 thumbnail of the little girl. Well on my monitor, it is as clear as any photo (got a top end Viewsonic monitor). That is what I expect to get.

Thanks,