Options

Friday Night Football From The Stands

frnofrnofrnofrno Registered Users Posts: 19 Big grins
edited December 4, 2008 in Sports
As we go into semifinals for the Sate Championship I seek some discussion/advice. I am new to DSLR this year and am shooting from the stands for publication on a community non-profit website, sort of an on-line newspaper. I do not sell pics and I do not want to be on the sidelines. In fact, I kind of like the view of the action I get from there. The sideline stuff is great, but I get punt blocks, pass receptions, etc, good action stuff, that seems more rare from sidelines. The local paper gets one crazy-good shot per game and I seem to get almost all of the big plays, but not quite the Photo artwork he gets.

So here is the challenge, maximizing my IQ and focus from the stands. I have tried a 70-200 2.8 and a Canon 55-250 IS. The 55-250 gave me the best overall results, mostly because I was always at f/5 or more (limitation of lens) and it made 85% of my shots good, even though I am pre-focusing and following the action to get the shot. I have to shoot at 1600 or higher and use noise reduction later, but the shots are great and I miss very little. With the 70-300 I am slower just due to size and weight and the f/2.8 works against me, either by making me re-focus due to field depth (thereby missing the shot) or I keep clicking and get only about 20% useable shots, the rest out of focus, and I always miss the good moments. What am I doing wrong?

Unless someone can change my approach, here is what I am planning for this Friday. 55-250 IS, 1/500th, largest aperture the lense allows and adjust ISO as high as needed to get useable pics, which depends alot on the stadium lighting, as yet unknown as it is away game. I am assuming that pre-focusing on the center of the action then ignoring focus and just clicking is the only way to react fast enough. Does anyone know what the "depth of field" is at f/5.0 from the stands (about 70 yards)?