Please help with desision.

GerdrickGerdrick Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited December 13, 2008 in Cameras
Hello, I am new to this wonderful board and to the SLR cameras. I am trying to pick between Canon 40D and 50D. Would you please help me? :bow

So far the decision is between these two cameras:

EOS 40D SLR Digital Camera with Canon 28-135mm Lens

EOS 50D SLR Digital Camera Kit with Canon 28-135mm Lens

Thank you so very much for all your help!

Comments

• Moogle PepperMoogle Pepper Registered Users Posts: 2,950 Major grins
    edited December 2, 2008
    Welcome to dgrin!

They are both excellent cameras, though the 40D should be slightly more affordable. Personally? Get the 40D and buy spiffy glass!
    Food & Culture.
    www.tednghiem.com
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,082 moderator
    edited December 2, 2008
    Gerdrick wrote:
    Hello, I am new to this wonderful board and to the SLR cameras. I am trying to pick between Canon 40D and 50D. Would you please help me? bowdown.gif

So far the decision is between these two cameras:

EOS 40D SLR Digital Camera with Canon 28-135mm Lens

EOS 50D SLR Digital Camera Kit with Canon 28-135mm Lens

Thank you so very much for all your help!

Gerdrick, welcome to the Digital Grin. clap.gif

The Canon 50D has some extra resolution and features that might be valuable if you need them.

My honest opinion is that if you intend to keep the 28-135mm zoom, it will not resolve the extra resolution capabilities of the 50D. The 50D also has a visual improvement in high-ISO, but the exposure seems to be more critical in order to take advantage of that capability. (At least that seems to be a fairly plausible way to explain the diversity of different experiences people have with the 50D and noise at high-ISO.)