Swimming pic help

gshaw2daygshaw2day Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited December 11, 2008 in Sports
I am new to this but I am having a terrible time with "grainy" photos of my daughter during her swimming meets.
I am shooting in moderate lighting (indoor pools), with high ISO and at times, in sequential shots, sport mode.
No flash allowed by most of the facilities.
What am I doing wrong??:dunno

My camera is a Sony a350 and at times, I do use a telephoto lens

Comments

• crockettcrockett Registered Users Posts: 180 Major grins
    edited December 6, 2008
    gshaw2day wrote:
    I am new to this but I am having a terrible time with "grainy" photos of my daughter during her swimming meets.
    I am shooting in moderate lighting (indoor pools), with high ISO and at times, in sequential shots, sport mode.
    No flash allowed by most of the facilities.
    What am I doing wrong??ne_nau.gif

My camera is a Sony a350 and at times, I do use a telephoto lens

Hey! Welcome. You've chosen a great place to get some help with your problems.

First and foremost. You need to post a couple examples. Make sure you put a number next to each example and also include the data for each photo (i.e. ISO, Aperature and Shutter Speed, Lens, Focal Length and since this a Sony please include the crop factor of the camera).

I realize you said you are shooting in "sports mode" but the camera still sets some, if not all, of those 3 settings and knowing them will help everyone give you better and more focused advice.

#2 If you don't understand the relationship between ISO, Aperature and Shutter speed, you need to Google it or Wiki it and begin to learn how each one effects the other and what effects they have on the final image.

#3 I can't speak for Sony cameras but with Canon you quickly discover that the "modes" (especially sports) simply just fall short and you need to learn to use your camera in either Aperature priority mode, manual mode or both.