Options

Can I get suggestions on Pricing?

toragstorags Registered Users Posts: 4,615 Major grins
edited December 10, 2008 in SmugMug Pro Sales Support
I'm a noob just opening a Pro account

I wonder if those who have had an account a while can give me some direction on what prices to post.

thanks
Rags

Comments

• Options
    timganglofftimgangloff Registered Users Posts: 60 Big grins
    edited December 9, 2008
    Pricing!?!
    Pricing is extremely difficult to judge. I kind of liken it to restaurants. McDonald's will sell you burger for a dollar and Ruth's Chris might charge you $40 for the burger (if they even sell them). So, quality and volume will have an impact on your prices. Another factor to consider is your geographic location. In some parts of the world, $5 for a 4x6 seems like a bargain and in other places, it would be expensive. Know your clients. Another factor like quality is your reputation. Some photographers can charge a lot more based solely on their reputation and budding photographer won't be able to charge as much. Also, some types of shooting are inherently more expensive, covering a long wedding, vs covering a 1 hour baseball game. You may need to charge more for the wedding pix.

torags wrote:

I wonder if those who have had an account a while can give me some direction on what prices to post.

thanks
  • Options
    JohnBiggsJohnBiggs Registered Users Posts: 841 Major grins
    edited December 9, 2008
    torags wrote:

thanks

Some places in the mall charge about $20 for a sheet. You can base your prices around how you feel your services compare. I feel people tend to pay more for portraits than something like sports, but you decide.

BTW: A sheet is any of the following.
    1 8x10
    2 5x7s
    3 4x6s
    8 wallets

etc.

If you give us more of an idea of where you are located and what kind of shooting you do, we may be able to get more specific.

John