Miriam -> by Ann

Ann McRaeAnn McRae Registered Users Posts: 4,584 Major grins
edited December 11, 2008 in People
On Saturday, while in the SF Bay area for the Dgrin party, I joined Nikolai (and April, Christina and Debbie) for a model shoot. Miriam has glorious green/hazel eyes and is incredibly flexible. Nik put her flexibility to great use.
I've never done glamour shots of any sort before, but wanted to see it done and see how I would handle it. Nik was so generous in arranging this shoot for us gals, and I must say he gets all credit for lighting, picking spots, and both he and his daughter Helen (assistant and great kid!) get credit for the poses. I occasionally suggested a foot, shoulder or face move but thats it. I did control my shooting angle (and not always very well). Nik told me at the beginning that the best stuff would come at the end. Not sure about that cuz I haven't edited those yet, but I think I got better with time.

I will try to be selective in what I show, but am pretty interested in some feedback so may go overboard.
So far I have edited with LR only - and not done any local brushing or extra color enhancement beyond clarity/saturation, black point, and minor curves.

We started off simply, and perhaps tentatively:
433615591_iurq5-M.jpg

433620214_temZC-M.jpg

We moved on to a strange square cutout on the bunker wall. It had horrible rusty hooks in the top, but Miriam willingly climbed and contorted in that little space. My favorite shot from this location suffers from bad positioning on my part, but I hope a creative crop can save it (not done yet):
433639751_JGPGd-M.jpg

433646071_dZqVp-M.jpg

From there we moved up to the top of the bunker, and had a glorious background of the GG bridge.

433698762_YQjWV-M.jpg

433699205_Jtnn9-M.jpg

Nik asked Miriam to do so salsa moves:

433706736_4RPTN-M.jpg