New guy. Just checking in.

waygard33waygard33 Registered Users Posts: 104 Major grins
edited December 19, 2008 in Other Cool Shots
I'm completely new to DSLR's but am usually the guy taking P&S photos everywhere we go. I've always shot using the 'Quantity' over 'Quality' method hoping that at least a few of my many shots would be worth looking at.

Finally decided to move up to a nicer camera when the need to photograph my son's basketball games came along. I'm enjoying the adventure so far.

Here is a photo I took the other day around town. I just like the colors and the worn out look.

Thanks for looking. Any feedback is welcome.

434348455_uvmxH-L.jpg

Comments

• catspawcatspaw Registered Users Posts: 1,292 Major grins
    edited December 18, 2008
    waygard33 wrote:
    I'm completely new to DSLR's but am usually the guy taking P&S photos everywhere we go. I've always shot using the 'Quantity' over 'Quality' method hoping that at least a few of my many shots would be worth looking at.

Finally decided to move up to a nicer camera when the need to photograph my son's basketball games came along. I'm enjoying the adventure so far.

Welcome to dgrin! so what type of DSLR did you end up buying??
    //Leah
  • rwellsrwells Registered Users Posts: 6,084 Major grins
    edited December 18, 2008
    Welcome to dgrin and DSLR's. There's lots to learn, and your at a good site for just that.

As for the shot:

Your focus led us to the front of the truck, but your perspective does not allow us to see much of that front end. We are forced to look at the long side of the truck, which is OOF due to shallow DOF.

But, the main thing to remember: If YOU like it, then its a good photograph thumb.gif

Looking forward to seeing more of your shots.
    Randy
  • waygard33waygard33 Registered Users Posts: 104 Major grins
    edited December 18, 2008
    catspaw wrote:
    Welcome to dgrin! so what type of DSLR did you end up buying??

Hi Leah,