help me choose a lens

AutonomousAutonomous Registered Users Posts: 40 Big grins
edited December 19, 2008 in Cameras
hi y'all!
so I wanna buy a new lens already but I don't know what to get.
I have XTi, and I think I would want the new lens for portrait, landscapes, nightscapes, anything basically. But I want it fast.
And, I can't afford that much too~ since I'm only a high school student.
$400 range.
any tips?
Rawr. Mwarr. Woof~

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,082 moderator
    edited December 18, 2008
    The reason to get a dSLR is so that you can spend endless amounts of money in constant pursuit of all the lenses you will need to shoot everything. :D

Seriously, I would start with a lens that will satisfy a large number of photographic tasks. For most people that is a "standard" zoom with a range of twice "normal" FOV through normal and then about 2/3rds normal FOV. For a Canon crop 1.6x camera, like the Canon XTi, that would be 18-55mm or so. While you may have the "kit" lens with that range, you may find it less than satisfactory in terms of focus speed and accuracy, maximum aperture and contrast.

A much better lens in that range might be the Tamron 17-50mm, f/2.8 XR Di II. This is a standard zoom of constant aperture and capable of professional results. There does seem to be some sample variation so be sure to purchase from a source that will allow easy exchange if your not happy with the results.

The Sigma 18-50mm, f/2.8 EX DC Macro is another pretty good choice.

If you need a little longer focal lengths, at the expense of the wide end, the Tamron SP 28-75mm, f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF is often recommended.

Notice that these are all f2.8 constant aperture zooms of very high quality, not to be confused with the lower end zooms with slower apertures and generall much less quality.
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • du8diedu8die Registered Users Posts: 358 Major grins
    edited December 18, 2008