Options

Editing Help.

Candid ArtsCandid Arts Registered Users Posts: 1,685 Major grins
edited January 11, 2009 in Finishing School
So I have this picture:

423017543_95MM2-L-1.jpg

*Sorry for the watermark, I tried removing it to post the picture here but it's not letting me, don't know what's up.

It was originally taken in color and in RAW. I've made it B&W and done a little editing to the version you are seeing, but not much. I'm trying to make the ground more contrasty, but at the same time not making the corner of the roll of film not TOO black and the bend in the film at the top as well.I'd ideally like the film to stay, for the most part, as is, but bringing out the detail in the ground. I've done this by adding black in LR2, but like I said, it makes the film and stuff too black. I'm really new to editing, and don't know much about it, yet. So any help would be great.

Oh and p.s., if you're using fancy shmancy terminology, try dumbing it down best you can. I know a little about editing, but not much.

Thanks everyone...

Comments

• Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,699 moderator
    edited December 22, 2008
    It is easier sometimes to get your contrast correction done in color before switching to B&W.

To increase the contrast of the grass in this image without affecting the films contrast will require creating a mask, because they are so similar in tone. If you cannot use the green color in the original in channel mixer, then you may have to select the film with one of the selection tools like the magic wand or the quick selection tool. You might even find you need to use the pen tool to get the precision you need.

A previous thread I have written about B&W conversion might be helpful
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Options
    TravisTravis Registered Users Posts: 1,472 Major grins
    edited December 22, 2008