Legal Headshots... C&C

du8diedu8die Registered Users Posts: 358 Major grins
edited December 26, 2008 in People
A friend of mine is starting to do some advertising for his law firm. He hired me to do some headshots for him. I'd be grateful to receive some feedback on how I can improve, etc.

This is my first attempt at using an umbrella - I have a lot to learn.

My setup:
40d ~ 70-200 f/2.8 ~ Bracket Mounted Flash bounced off ceiling - mostly to trigger the Vivitar ~ Vivitar 283 on an umbrella camera left - optical trigger.

1)
441749617_5MitX-M-1.jpg
My thoughts: I think the color is spot on here, there's a highlight just off the mouth on the right that I'm not thrilled about. Or, did I cool this down too much? Also, the collar looks like it's blown out. What else am I missing?

2)
441750100_unJVV-M-1.jpg
Face, for some reason looks soft. I don't get that, because the focal point was the eye. Though I did shoot this at f/2.8 with the Tamron 28-75 f/2.8, and I've noticed that lens tends to be a little soft at 2.8. My main question with this one is the color? Is this 'temperature' better than #1?

3)
442505458_g7BBC-M.jpg
Ugh. DOF problems here. I was having exposure issues (too dark), so the first thing I went for was a bigger aperature. How is the pose here?

Thanks for looking, and for providing feedback. Any comments you have will be tremendously helpful.
H2 Photography - Blog - Facebook - Twitter

Despite the high cost of living, it remains popular.

Why do people post their equipment in their sig. Isn't it kind of like bragging? That having been said...

Canon 40d Gripped (x2), Rebel (Original), Canon 70-200 f/2.8 USM L, Canon 300 f/4, Tamron 28-75 f/2.8, Canon 50mm f/1.8, Canon 17-55 f/3.5-5.6, ThinkTank Airport TakeOff

Comments

• ivarivar Registered Users Posts: 8,395 Major grins
    edited December 25, 2008
    As far as sharpness, I think #1 is the winner; However, he seems to look a bit uncomfortable. #2 and 3 have a more relaxed expression I think.