Options

Smugmug prints not matching with monitor...

Unbrok3nUnbrok3n Registered Users Posts: 444 Major grins
edited January 18, 2009 in Digital Darkroom
OK, so I have a Dell 2005fpw monitor and an eyeone pro display calibration hardware. I calibrated the monitor in advanced so that everything is right, (had to lower rgb to get luminance down) but I just got 6, 5x7 prints done, and they seem somewhat washed out and desaturated compared to my calibrated monitor...Im really confused. Ive gone through so much effort here! and im a college student, and over winter break I really want to get my photos edited...any tips? Id say most notably the greens and maybe yellows look much better on my monitor than in the prints. Please, any input is greatly appreciated...I really want to be able to edit my pics. And fyi, eyeone has been nothing but problems. Thanks so much!

ps. should I just calibrate manually til it matches the pictures printed from smugmug??
graphic designer/photographer

Comments

• Options
    mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited December 29, 2008
    What color space were your JPGs that you sent to Smugmug in?
    Bill Jurasz - Mercury Photography - Cedar Park, TX
    A former sports shooter
    Follow me at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/bjurasz/
    My Etsy store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/mercphoto?ref=hdr_shop_menu
  • Options
    edited December 29, 2008
    It was sRGB...but smugmug converts them into sRGB either way
  • Options
    BeachBillBeachBill Registered Users Posts: 1,311 Major grins
    edited December 29, 2008
    Did you read this?

http://www.smugmug.com/help/display-color

Note there is a calibration print you can order to compare with your monitor display.
    Bill Gerrard Photography - Facebook - Interview - SmugRoom: Useful Tools for SmugMug
  • Options
    edited December 29, 2008