Smoky Hills Wind Farm - Lincoln County Kansas

racurtisracurtis Registered Users Posts: 9 Big grins
edited January 7, 2009 in Landscapes
Hello everyone. Long time listener, first time poster. I spent Christmas in central Kansas this year, in very close proximity to the Smoky Hills Wind Farm in Lincoln and Ellsworth counties. I am relatively new to this hobby and not yet completely comfortable with Photoshop, however, I think I wound up with some decent shots here. Please tell me what you all think.

Thanks in advance.

444220774_PY2ca-L.jpg

444221548_jK73f-L.jpg

444220138_SM5Wv-L.jpg

444514852_t9AP3-L.jpg

444515509_xAjMW-L.jpg

444516118_3PJoU-L.jpg

Comments

• Jack'll doJack'll do Registered Users Posts: 2,977 Major grins
    edited January 2, 2009
    You have some nice shots here but they could quite easily be improved a lot.

#1. Overall a bit too light and washed out. If you add a brightness/contrast adjustment layer and decrease brightness and up the contrast a tad it will be much improved (especially the sky). If you are familiar with using curves, a curves adjustment would be even better. Alternatively, do Image -> Adjustment -> Shadow/Highlights and just darken the highlights and adjust the midtone contrast. Lots of ways to skin a cat just choose the one that gives the best result

#2.Level the horizon and adjust as in #1. If you are comfortable with using masks, you could limit the adjustment to the sky and windmill on this one.

#3, 4, 5 You've committed the cardinal sin of having the subject dead center which we all did in the beginning.

#3 Could be fixed by cropping the left side in to the start of the hill slope.

#4 I love the colors here. First fix the leftward tilt of the windmill. Since there are no other features but the windmill, I'd like to see this in a portrait format with the windmill still centered.