Crassula ovata (Jade Tree) bloom - Crits and Feedback appreciated!

erisian popeerisian pope Registered Users Posts: 48 Big grins
edited January 5, 2009 in Holy Macro
Crassula ovata (aka Crassula argentea) flower. Approximately 1.5cm across widest part across the middle.
IMG_7777_8x6.jpg

I grow a few succulents on my apartment porch, but seldom see blooms due to not getting enough sun. So what a treat this is, my first blooms on my Jade tree!

I'm just learning how to use my flash (just got one for Xmas, then built a DIY ringflash assembly for it).

Here's the EXIF from Photobucket (trimmed):

Camera Make: Canon
Camera Model: Canon EOS 20D
Date/Time: 2009:01:04 08:47:04
Flash Used: Yes (manual)
Focal Length: 105.0mm (35mm equivalent: 737...
CCD Width: 5.13mm
Exposure Time: 0.0100 s (1/100)
Aperture: f/22.0
ISO Equiv.: 200
Whitebalance: Auto
Exposure: Manual
Exposure Mode: Manual
Exposure Mode: Auto bracketing
I always appreciate feedback and critiques. I'm here to learn, so no need to be gentle!

Thanks!!
- Christian
My Web Gallery

Comments

• GOLDENORFEGOLDENORFE Super Moderators Posts: 4,747 moderator
    edited January 4, 2009
    welcome to the forum Chritian
    im not too good with flowers but looks quite soft,cant see a definate focus point, using too small apperture [f22] does not help with sharpness as magnification increases, try f8-f11 you will get much sharper images.
    flower is too central in frame also.
    flash does take a bit of practise to learn.
    keep practising, look foreward to seeing more soon.
    phil
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/goldenorfe/
  • erisian popeerisian pope Registered Users Posts: 48 Big grins
    edited January 4, 2009
    Thanks for the feedback, Phil! I shot some at F11 and my DOF was limited to about 1/2 of the flower. Since these flowers are pretty small they don't have a ton of detail, so I found that my pictures where a good bit of the flower is out of focus the picture turned out very bland.