Options

Newbie Lens Advice Needed

ssimmonsphotossimmonsphoto Registered Users Posts: 424 Major grins
edited January 8, 2009 in Weddings
Hi, all. I'm a newbie around here and to weddings in general. I have already learned so much from all of you, but I'm a little overwhelmed with lens choices. I currently have a Canon EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, Canon EF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6 II, and Promaster AF 70-300mm 1:4-5.6 LD with an XT body. I just bought the 50mm last week and I'm loving it already, especially for the price. I have three weddings in the works for the summer and will be getting the Canon 50D once I have contracts for them signed. Given that I know I want a lens with a lower f/stop than most kits come with, I'm planning to get the body only and then a lens seperately. This is where I'm hoping y'all can give me some help.

Given my current lineup, what would you be in the market for if you were me? I do not plan to ever make my business my sole source of income (teaching is my "day job"), so I'm not looking to spend anything over than $750 and would rather spend much less than that. I also don't plan to upgrade the 50D for a very long time for the same reason.

Thanks so much for your help (especially if you made it this far in my message).
Website (hosted by Zenfolio after 6.5 years with SmugMug) | Blog (hosted by Zenfolio) | Tave User

Comments

• Options
    cj99sicj99si Registered Users Posts: 880 Major grins
    edited January 7, 2009
    Probably a tamron 17-50 2.8.
  • Options
    edited January 7, 2009
    cj99si wrote:
    Probably a tamron 17-50 2.8.
    Thanks for the advice, fellow Mainer. Do you have any experience with the Sigma version of the Tammy? PopPhoto mentioned that the Sigma version is a bit cheaper, but gave it rave reviews otherwise. It's on my want it list now. deal.gif
    Website (hosted by Zenfolio after 6.5 years with SmugMug) | Blog (hosted by Zenfolio) | Tave User
  • Options
    jrmyrnsmjrmyrnsm Registered Users Posts: 188 Major grins