Moving on Up

koushkoush Registered Users Posts: 66 Big grins
edited January 22, 2009 in Cameras
hi grinners,

I have only recently begun taking a more enthusiastic approach to photography. Realizing the learning curve was very steep, I reckoned going slow and learning was the best approach. So I bought a G10, the idea being I could better learn the basics of aperture, shutter speed, exposure, etc.
before making the quantum leap to the DSLR world. And while this process is still continuing, I am at times stretching the limits of this camera, and realize I am getting closer to the DSLR world than I would have thought.

I understand the principle of getting the best lenses one can afford, as opposed to buying an expensive body.

I like to shoot all different types of things. macro,birds/wildlife and landscapes .I am a non working photographer, just a hobbyist.

Through work I can get a 450d twin lens kit for about 900 oz$. It comes with the standard 18-55, and 55-250 lenses. This will continue the learning process nicely I think.

What general purpose lens would be a good addition?? Or would spending a lot of bucks on a lens be wasted on the 450 body??

Really folks, my head is in a thousand different worlds, and your thoughts and advice would be greatly and warmly received.

cheers:D
don't get your knickers ina twist, it doesn't feel good and makes you walk funny

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,082 moderator
    edited January 19, 2009
    Koush, welcome to the Digital Grin. clap.gif

The Canon XSi/450D is a pretty good entry level camera. The kit lenses are fine to get you started but you may grow out of them.

I don't think you will find them too suitable for macro and birding in particular.

Yes, the XSi/450D would support better lenses and yes, you could see better results than with the kit lenses.