Dgrin Challange #17, Advice needed!

RewenRewen Registered Users Posts: 30 Big grins
edited January 25, 2009 in The Dgrin Challenges
I love this photo, its of my kitten, Orrie, I have no title for it, and its not edited at all yet.

What do you all think I should try? I am a little new to photoshop.
Orrie1.jpg
Rachel Ewen Photography

www.rachel-ewen.com

Comments

• Velvet-ArtVelvet-Art Registered Users Posts: 292 Major grins
    edited January 23, 2009
    1st of all, welcome to Dgrin Rachel

With regards to editing in PS here are a few things I'd try.

1st off, Levels ( ctrl-l in windows), you can try hitting the Auto Levels button or you can do it manually. ( best do a Dgrin or Google about a Levels Tutorial )

2nd, "Remove Color cast" (find it under "Enhance / Adjust color /" ). Click on a part of your image that you know should be a neutral grey or white.

3rd, I'd apply a little mid-range sharpening, UnSharp Mask ( find it in "Enhance / Unsharp Mask ")with the values of 16-20 %amount, 150-180 Radius and 0 on the others. (you can play with the amount and radius while clicking the preview button to show the differences of before and after. )

4th, if there are any little spots or blemishes use the Heal tool ( Ctrl-j )to get rid of them. I try and zoom in to 80-100% to examine the pic to do this.

Then the final step you do should be output sharpening, I use the Unsharp Mask tool that you just used in step 3, but this time change the values to 150-250% amount, 0.6-1.2 radius, and 0-3 threshold to stop any High ISO or dust noise sharpened.

These are some basic steps that I do to most of my pics, see what you can come up with, have a play wings.gifbarb

Hope this helps and isn't too long-winded (just long-winded enough :D:D)
  • RewenRewen Registered Users Posts: 30 Big grins
    edited January 23, 2009
    Velvet-Art wrote: