any experience with Nikon 16-85 mm lens

rwmjrwmj Registered Users Posts: 58 Big grins
edited January 27, 2009 in Cameras
I am relatively new to digital photography and am noticing that my pictures are not a sharp as I would like. I am using a Nikon D40x with the standard 18-55mm lens. Even though I often use a tripod and stop the lens down the sharpness of the pictures leaves something to be desired. Its not surprising that the optics in these kit lenses might be less than ideal but I am not sure how to remedy the situation. I notice that Nikon has a relatively new 16-85 mm lens (in the $560 range) that some reviewers say is pretty sharp if you are not going to spend 2 or 3 times that much. Even $560 is a stretch for me but I do want to improve on the optical quality. I saw a review by Ken Rockwell who wrote that the sharpness of this lens was no better than the standard 18-55. I don't want to fork out the extra cash if there is not a compelling reason to expect big improvements. Currently I am interested in lanscapes but in th epast I have done lost sof people - both portaits and street photograhy. This would be an all purpose lens for me taking the palve of the 18-55mm that I purchased with the camera. Anyone have experience with the Nikon 16-85 mm lens or have other suggestions.

Thanks,

Roy

Comments

• LiquidityLiquidity Registered Users Posts: 13 Big grins
    edited January 26, 2009
    rwmj wrote: