Options

What should I do?

MarloweMarlowe Registered Users Posts: 219 Major grins
edited February 4, 2009 in Weddings
Hi, new to the wedding forum but have been an active photographer (self taught) shooting bike racing events for about 2 years. Out of the blue, in the last week I've been approached by two different cyclists for work as wedding photographer. I know absolutely nothing about this kind of work but I'd like to help them out.

Any suggestions from experienced wedding shooters out there would be most welcome. I'm not sure how to respond to these requests or what I should charge should I accept. I don't really want to turn away any work! Is it at all possible to get good results using only the equipment I already have:

Nikon D70s/D80
Nikon 35mm F2.8D, 80-200mm 2.8ED
Sigma 18-50mm F2.8 EX DC, 50-150mm F2.8 EX DC
SB-800's

I don't have extensive experience shooting indoors other than the odd family photo using bounce flash etc.

Thanks,
Jon

www.cxphotos.smugmug.com

Comments

• Options
    picturegirlpicturegirl Registered Users Posts: 245 Major grins
    edited January 28, 2009
    Sounds like a great oppurtunity! I would highly stress to these people that you are not an experienced wedding photographer but that you would be willing to give it a shot. I would have a well prepared contract so that it can't come back and bite you. I would assume they know you don't do weddings but have seen your work and they liked what they saw, which tells me they are not overly picky about you not being a wedding photographer. I kind of got my start this way and it's amazing how trusting people are, especially when you are completley honest with them. I would recommend researching different poses and important things to shoot at a wedding. Get an idea from them also what they would like you to get. You are working and providing a service for them and being that you are just starting out why not work with them on what they want.