Options

Engagement photos, where do I start?

FlutistFlutist Registered Users Posts: 704 Major grins
edited February 8, 2009 in Weddings
I have a couple (friends) that want me to photograph them for their engagement announcement. While I'm honored, I'm scared out of my gourd. I suck in comparison to all of you here. So please tell me, what am I up against.

They want photos inside, formal studio style as well as some taken here

They know I am learning, and I explained that their picture may look like donkey poo :rofl but that if they understood that, I would be happy to do them.

Lead me in the right direction here. What do I bring for both sessions?

Here is what I have:

Canon XTi
Canon 50mm1.8
Canon 24-105
Canon 430EX
Red/Black/Blue/White backgrounds
I have http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=290291031285 that lighting unit coming. It's not great, but I had to make a sacrifice in quality while I'm still learning.
~Shannon~

Canon 50D, Rebel XTi,Canon 24-105L, Canon 50mm 1.8, Tamron 28-75 2.8, 430EX
www.sbrownphotography.smugmug.com
my real job
looking for someone to photograph my wedding 8/11

Comments

• Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited January 28, 2009
    This is not hard - don't let it scare you.

First, schedule the shoot such that you can re-shoot in case they really do turn out looking like donkey poo. :D If you have to re-shoot, you'll have learned a lot from the first attempt.