Options

advice needed on what to buy...

pepper44pepper44 Registered Users Posts: 170 Major grins
edited May 24, 2005 in Cameras
I need some advice. I really enjoy photography as a hobby, and I need to buy a better camera than the one I have. (It's only 2 megapixels, so pretty much anything is nicer.) I tried to figure out on my own what to buy, but I'm overwhelmed by all the choices!! My research only resulted in a lot of confusion. I like to take a lot of nature pictures while hiking, and I also would want to use the camera for general events like birthdays, christmas, and indoor things. I am kind of leaning towards digital because I won't have to pay for film and developing, but I'm open to the idea of a film camera as well.

I would appreciate any advice on what to buy. Keep in mind I'm a poor college student...I have a to have a relatively small budget unless I don't want to eat for the next year.... :cry

Amy

Comments

• Options
    gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited May 21, 2005
    Pepper just 1 thing to ask...your expected budget.

Gus
  • Options
    edited May 21, 2005
    Humungus wrote:
    Pepper just 1 thing to ask...your expected budget.

Gus
    I hate to say it, but only $500. $600 at the very most!! Maybe something that I could buy more lenses for over time...
  • Options
    edited May 21, 2005
    Well again i always like a camera ive never handled & thats the Panasonic DMC FZ-20...

The stuff i have seen that camera do just continues to blow me away.

For a camera with 12x abitlity & a decent macro ability + image stabalisation in one package i would buy one in a heart beat.

This is just my opinion though....get more.
  • Options
    SeymoreSeymore Banned Posts: 1,539 Major grins
    edited May 21, 2005
    OK... it sounds like you want something you can grow into. So, a few more questions to assist us in assisting you...

How long have you been shooting?
    (now for the hard one...)