Sports CD

MDalbyMDalby Registered Users Posts: 697 Major grins
edited January 30, 2009 in Sports
All,

I am embarassed to post my shots compared to you pros but here goes.

I was shooting a high school game and at half time there was a youth league that had a little scrimmage. I just took some shots of the kids and the parents ate it up. They want me to come shoot some of their games and put them on a CD.

How would you guys charge for something like that and not get ripped off by having the parents just get one and share the photos. Should I ask for a minimum number purchased? If I shot 3 or so games and put the photos on a CD, what woudl I charge for the CDs?

I am just trying to get experience right now and improve. I am not a pro yet and so I can't be charging what you guys charge.

I am REALLY itching to get my radio poppers so I can have some serious lighting with my White Lightning flash and drop down my ISO hopefully to get some better quality shots. But that is probably 2-3 weeks away.

Thanks for the help.

MD

455485627_ixUsR-L.jpg

455478635_nrkBQ-L.jpg

455476995_AecYj-L.jpg

456055670_W5yGW-L.jpg
Nikon D4, 400 2.8 AF-I, 70-200mm 2.8 VR II, 24-70 2.8
CBS Sports MaxPreps Shooter
http://DalbyPhoto.com

Comments

• KMCCKMCC Registered Users Posts: 717 Major grins
    edited January 29, 2009
    Nice shots. #4 is a little soft, but it happens; nothing to worry about.

I've never been interested in selling CDs. Probably for the reason that you mentioned: "ripped off by having the parents just get one and share the photos".

I much prefer selling individual prints.

BTW: charge what the market price is for the size print you're selling. Your status as a photographer (amateur/pro) is all just a state of mind. Don't undercut the market by selling cheap.

Kent
    "Not everybody trusts paintings, but people believe photographs."- Ansel Adams
    Web site
  • Ann McRaeAnn McRae Registered Users Posts: 4,584 Major grins
    edited January 30, 2009
    KMCC wrote: