Options

Workflow advice

JarvoJarvo Registered Users Posts: 9 Big grins
edited February 4, 2009 in Finishing School
Hey all,

I'm an amateur photographer with a background in computers. I'm trying to understand the best workflow for my images, so that I don't have to duplicate effort and disk space!

Until recently my workflow had been ... take a bunch of images. Dump them into a folder on the hard drive, and then crop/straighten/minor adjust with whichever image package was to hand.

However I've been keen to take better images, and then also ensure that I store them correctly, and try to improve my processing too.

With that in mind I've been looking at both Lightroom2 and Aperture 2. I'd quite liked the way that Lightroom stores the images on the hard disk, and just keeps a catalog file of the changes. Aperture seems to import everything into it's database. (Does this mean if the database corrupts, that you then have lost your images?).

What I've been doing recently, is importing images into Lightroom, and storing them on a folder on the hard disk called Photos and then arranging by date and then by event. This seems to work well. I then do the minor adjustments as necessary and then using the lightroom smugmug plugin, I have been uploading to smugmug.

This seems logical enough.

Now, for my sins, I also have a facebook account where I tend to upload my "snapshots" of nights out with friends etc. I notice that iPhoto 09 has the nifty feature of the facial recognition, but also the facebook uploading and name tagging.

My question is ... I know that aperture links into iphoto ... but do you still actually need to import the photos??

What I was trying to get to was one simple route for all images.

Eg Take photos -> Import into Lightroom/Aperture -> Image adjustments such as crop/straighten etc -> Upload to smugmug via lightroom OR Upload to facebook via iPhoto 09.