#18--Am I on the right track?

slpollettslpollett Registered Users Posts: 1,215 Major grins
edited February 6, 2009 in The Dgrin Challenges
I've never done either low key or high key before. If nothing else, I'm bound to learn something this round. I've always thought low-key to be too dark & high key just never appealed to me. I wasn't even going to attempt this round because I didn't think I was interested in the topic. I've seen some awesome shots this round so I've had to re-adjust my thinking a bit, lol!!

Here goes...admittedly since I've never tried this before I decided to start by using the pre-set for low key or high key on my camera. I'll switch to manual once I have figured out more of what I'm doing. I have a flash attachment for my camera, but the only other lights I have are lamps and flashlights.

First try at low key. Am I even close?? I used a flashlight off to the side for this one. I'm going to call it "Low Keys" (lol)
468314554_WcyCd-M.jpg

This one is supposed to be High Key, but I'm not sure it looks High Key to me. I'm thinking I might like the concept, but I need to work it some more this weekend. Trouble is getting the darned cat to cooperate!! I'm calling this one "Cat and Mouse."
468313940_QDiiA-M.jpg

Obviously, I will need to re-shoot. Are either of these two ideas worth pursuing?? Any suggestions for me??

Thanks,
Sherry

Comments

• angevin1angevin1 Registered Users Posts: 3,403 Major grins
    edited February 6, 2009
    I think the first one is definitely low....and it is Key'd after all!:D

The second is probably close, but since high key often is thought of as the lighting difference between your background and the subject, in this case its hard to tell...perhaps with a less intimate foreground? or a little more of the background for good measure..but overall I like its intimacy.

I think you're on the right track in both~

cheers, tom
    tom wise
  • divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins