New

Memories by MelindaMemories by Melinda Registered Users Posts: 140 Major grins
edited February 6, 2009 in People
I am new to this site and thought I would add some photos I took recently. Please feel free to C&C. I am still learning and would love to hear what you all have to say.

1. I wish that I could crop this one differently but I saw him lost in thought and took it quickly...he won't stay still long.

3110985900_a937854261.jpg

3110987034_a1e233438e.jpg

3110985228_75378999b3.jpg

3110153089_7513730e10.jpg

Comments

• du8diedu8die Registered Users Posts: 358 Major grins
    edited February 5, 2009
    Welcome.

You should find that the people around here are encouraging and will help you learn.

Here's my thoughts about these. I hope they're helpful.

1) I like it. Not sure what I would do differently. He's centered left-to-right, but not vertically. I'm not sure if moving him to one side of the frame or the other would help.

2) Nice pose - but she looks not happy. You nailed the horizon (water in the background), but the pole is not vertical. That kind of bugs me, but I'm not sure it should.

3) One problem with shooting in direct sunlight is seen here. He's squinting pretty severely. Also, his shoulders are square on to the camera, and he's dead-center in the frame.

4) Nice smile. Again, square on to the camera and dead-center in the frame.

Two quick pieces of advice. Search this forum or Google for the Rule of Thirds. It will help your composition tremendously. Second, if you can avoid shooting in direct sunlight, do it. Find something that gives a nice, even shadow. That will get rid of harsh shadows on the face, and even things out a bit more for you.

Thanks for sharing! Welcome to da grin!
    H2 Photography - Blog - Facebook - Twitter

Despite the high cost of living, it remains popular.

Why do people post their equipment in their sig. Isn't it kind of like bragging? That having been said...