Options

Help with settings/beginner question

JustPlainMeJustPlainMe Registered Users Posts: 190 Major grins
edited February 11, 2009 in Technique
I am a beginner with manual settings, and so I'm asking for feedback from experienced folks who don't have this kind of problem anymore! :bow

I took this shot at our local zoo today:

3268246050_077aa8b9cc_b.jpg

I realize my choice of aperture was not the right one; I probably should have worked to have both prairie dogs in focus. It was an overcast day, complete cloud cover, the dogs were moving fast. I had to dial in the settings pretty quickly, and I'm new at this. With this lens at any focal length above 150mm, ISO 400 and up is a bit grainy. (Yeah, okay, I know it's a crappy lens. I'm not happy with it, but I'm on an extremely limited budget.) I intend to crop out the intruder and the funky foreground at a later time.

EXIF:

1/320 f/5.6 ISO 100 focal length 250mm

1) I was about 15 feet away, fill flash would have been ineffective.
2) I had to hand-hold.
3) This shot was well underexposed, I bumped up ISO to 400 and it was still underexposed, so I risked it at a lower ISO.

Should I have been more focused on (no pun intended) kicking up the ISO and trying to fix it in PP? Or, maybe the dogs were too far apart for it to have worked at all. (They were about 1.5 feet apart.) When I stopped down, my shutter speed dipped way under what I could handhold.

Help would be appreciated!

Sarah
Please ignore my opinions! And if I ask for constructive criticism, please give it to me. I have really thick skin! :huh

Comments

• Options
    Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited February 10, 2009
    wave.gif - Welcome Sarah!

FWIW - I think you did a spendid job with this.

Salient facts:
    Focal Length: 250 mm
    DOF Required: 1.5ft
    Focus Distance: 15ft

At f/5.6, your DOF is only about 0.4ft (4.8 inches). Not going to cut it.