Options

I2e help please.

Lupus RexLupus Rex Registered Users Posts: 8 Beginner grinner
edited February 12, 2009 in Finishing School
Hello all,

This is my first time posting on Dgrin as I am new here.
I found Dgrin while trying to find some information about I2E.
I am a professional photographer and have recently taken on an increasingly large personal project. I am seeking to digitize my extended family pictoral history.
I discovered I2E when i decided that I had to adopt a new workflow for this project.
All has worked fairly well untill I started running my print scans through I2E. The range of print quality is everything from 1 hour lab prints to heirloom civil war prints.
I would be happy to digitize the images without improvement, but the problem is that I have been totaly unable to find any good literature on the use of I2E.

My biggest problem thus far is noise being generated in the shadow areas. I have played with all of the controls and can achieve acceptable results with much effort.
Untill I know what all of the controls do, I will not be able to create channels for bulk auto enhancements.
Just as an example, I2e has two noise reduction controlls (Edge Preserving and Local) and I have not been able to find out what the difference is.
Any help or advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated.
I am glad I found this site. This looks like my kind of place.

~Lupus

Comments

• Options
    PupatorPupator Registered Users Posts: 2,322 Major grins
    edited February 11, 2009
    wave.gif Welcome to Dgrin - you will like it here. nod.gif

I'm an I2E user as well, but it certainly doesn't win any awards for intuitiveness.