Options

LR2 pros and cons

TrevlanTrevlan Registered Users Posts: 649 Major grins
edited February 15, 2009 in Finishing School
My fellow dgrinners.

I'm far from a pro photographer, but that's what I aspire to be. So, with that said, I need to get acquainted with the tools pros use.

I'm curious about Lightroom. Is it worth the money? What are the benefits? I have PS CS4 and that was a hard hit to the wallet. I want to know what's so good about Lightroom before I shell out the 300 dollars.

I'm in full swing with getting little jobs here and there, I want to shoot RAW so that I have more control over the Jpg conversion. I hear stories about how sweet LR2 is for workflow. I'm just looking for justification.

Can a few people with this software chime in? Thanks champs!
Frank Martinez
Nikon Shooter
It's all about the moment...

Comments

• Options
    arodneyarodney Registered Users Posts: 2,005 Major grins
    edited February 14, 2009
    You shoot Raw? You need a DAM to keep track of your images? You need to print more than one image at a time? These are but a few capabilities that shine in LR. Download a demo and check it out. Its NOT a pixel editor like Photoshop. Its not a Siamese twin of Bridge+Camera Raw.
    Andrew Rodney
    Author "Color Management for Photographers"
    http://www.digitaldog.net/
  • Options
    TrevlanTrevlan Registered Users Posts: 649 Major grins
    edited February 14, 2009
    I have a Kodak Dye sub printer, but don't have the need to print just yet. Most of my prints come from smugmug... So, if that's what I'm doing now, should I even bother with lightroom? I don't have a problem with using bridge and Camera Raw 5.
    Frank Martinez
    Nikon Shooter
    It's all about the moment...
  • Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited February 14, 2009