Options

Why the high speed?

nillaismydognillaismydog Registered Users Posts: 32 Big grins
edited May 24, 2005 in Accessories
I'm new to the whole digital photography thing and haven't bought my cf card yet. I've looked at the reviews and charts and stuff about what's faster... but does it really make a difference? Why do you need a fast card? if it's slow will I have to wait to take my 2nd pic then 3rd etc? If someone could clue me in that'd be great!

Comments

• Options
    NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited May 24, 2005
    It's relatively easy
    I'm new to the whole digital photography thing and haven't bought my cf card yet. I've looked at the reviews and charts and stuff about what's faster... but does it really make a difference? Why do you need a fast card? if it's slow will I have to wait to take my 2nd pic then 3rd etc? If someone could clue me in that'd be great!
    Essentially you're looking at the "eliminating the weakest link" ongoing game. Originally digital cameras were slow, there were no high-speed shooting, files were small, no RAW, etc. At those times even slow flash cards were way faster than needed.
    Now with high range DSLRs being able to produce several 8mp RAWs per second write speed is essential. Put it a low card - and instead of 4fps you can get 3, or even one, or worse.

So, you see, all the components in the workflow should be adequate.
    Fast lens allows for fastr refocusing and faster shutter speeds, which allows for more fps, which needs faster card, which fills card quicker, which needs higher volume, which needs faster way to deliver pictures to computer, which needs more HDD space and more ram to handle 6..10 8mp RAWs into one high quality HDR..:-)

HTH
    "May the f/stop be with you!"
  • Options
    Shay StephensShay Stephens Registered Users Posts: 3,165 Major grins
    edited May 24, 2005