Options

appropriate processing software?

mdsdurangomdsdurango Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
edited February 16, 2009 in Finishing School
I'm lost!
A complete beginner. I have two point and shoot cameras - an older Nikon Coolpix 7900 and a new Panasonic LX3.
Both cameras came with a simple processing program; Picture Project came with the Nikon, Silkipix came with the Panasonic. They seem to be fairly simple processing programs and "gender specific", ie; each works only with the camera it came with.
I am not and have no (current) desire to become a professional, or even advanced amature, photographer. What I do want is to be able to take very good shots of residential architecture, inside and out (I'm a builder). For this I picked up the LX3 and have ordered the additional wide angle lens.
I assume that I will be asking a lot of future questions on this forum so thanks in advance for your help.
The first question is: What is the appropriate version of photoshop (or other software) for processing and editing RAW shots from the LX3?
I've heard of "stacking" and can see where this might be of bennifit. I don't know what else I should be sure is in the software. I will not need any motion or video editing or processing. I do have a web site but it is managed by a site developer. I do need to get her the pictures and she is miles away.
I've been searching and only becomming more confused.
Any suggestions?

Thanks,
Mike
Durango Colorado

Comments

• Options
    NeilLNeilL Registered Users Posts: 4,201 Major grins
    edited February 16, 2009
    Depends to some extent on your operating system, and on how much you want to spend on post processing software.