Options

Konica Minolta 24-105mm f/3.5-4.5 - Thoughts?

scooxscoox Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
edited February 25, 2009 in Cameras
Hello everyone,
luckily my dealer was kind enough to change from my Sony A100 Kit for $370 to a Sony A100 w/out lense for $290 :barb (see thread in main forum).

Now he also offers lenses. I am thinking about purchasing a Konica Minolta 24-105mm f/3.5-4.5. The price is $205.

Since I am a newbie, I would like to ask you whether that one might be good for me, before I buy it.

a) I will mainly be doing landscape, architecture and nature photos, but will also do pictures of people from time to time (though not portraits, but rather people within a landscape). As far as I understood, the lense which I plan to buy is a wide angle lense, which would make it suitable for that.

b) In addition, is the price of this lense good? Could I get it way cheaper if I bought it used?

c) How much slower is the speed of such a lense compared to a 24-85 mm lens? Is it heavy like half a second, or more sth. like .1 sec?

The dealer also has a similar Tamron lense on offer for less than half the price... but I read really bad reviews, so I guess I will better go with the Minolta, right?

Or would you rather recommend another lense?

Thank you very much for your help!
Scoox
PS: Sorry, wanted to post this in the gear forum... could sbd move it?

Comments

• Options
    munmimunmi Registered Users Posts: 28 Big grins
    edited February 19, 2009
    I have not used this exact lens but I do have one similar from Sigma for use on my Konica-Minolta 7D. It works well for me.
    You may want to look here for more reviews from Sony/Konica-Minolta users.
    Scott

www.smitchellphotography.com
    Munising, Michigan
  • Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited February 20, 2009
    scoox wrote:
    Hello everyone,