My first picture post!

boolsachoboolsacho Registered Users Posts: 4 Beginner grinner
edited March 3, 2009 in People
Hi, everyone! I am very new to this.

Thanks to this project by Angelo, http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=115977 , I was fortunate to go on a portrait shooting with Colleen.

Here is a picture I have processed.

I am a total noob, so please forgive my noobness :D

CC more than welcome please :D

img5472edit1.jpg

Comments

• Scott_QuierScott_Quier Registered Users Posts: 6,524 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2009
    The good:
    • At this size, it looks like you nail the focus
    • I really like the composition. I don't know that the context is significant to her, but it adds a lot to the shot. I also like that you have given her a lot of room in which to breath.
    • It appears this was done in a house of worship - her attention seems to be on the alter(?) where is should be
    Things that detract:
    • The color cast. Next time, shoot a gray card and use that to establish either a custom white balance or use it to correct the color cast in post processing.
    • The upper right (and the associated shadow) - don't know what that is, and that's the problem. It distracts attention 'cause I'm trying to figure that out.
    • The three sticks in the lower right - Clone those things out.
    • The pew end in the center of the shot .... hmmmm .... don't know what to do about that except to say, get rid of it next time.
    • I might crop out the pew end along the left edge of the frame.
    • Is is under-exposed a bit?
    HTH
  • Frog LadyFrog Lady Registered Users Posts: 1,091 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2009
    hey, I recognize that dgrinner :D

It was fun shooting w/ you as well. Given how dark in was within the mission chapel, this came out pretty well. Scott has made some good points. I agree about the color cast. Too bad I didn't think to pull out the white balance card I keep in my backpack rolleyes1.gif