24" iMac Calibration - what do you use?

JKSlusserJKSlusser Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
edited March 22, 2010 in Digital Darkroom
Hello! I'm a NEWBIE SmugMugger! I have a 24" iMac that's a year old (glossy screen). I don't want to spend an arm and a leg on a calibration program, but I want something that works and is user friendly. Any suggestions? Thank you in advance for your help on this!

Comments

• WingsOfLovePhotoWingsOfLovePhoto Registered Users Posts: 797 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2009
    JKSlusser wrote:
    Hello! I'm a NEWBIE SmugMugger! I have a 24" iMac that's a year old (glossy screen). I don't want to spend an arm and a leg on a calibration program, but I want something that works and is user friendly. Any suggestions? Thank you in advance for your help on this!

I calibrate my MAC with an xrite eye I 2. Works great!
    Snady :thumb
    my money well spent :D
    Nikon D4, D3s, D3, D700, Nikkor 24-70, 70-200 2.8 vrII, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.4, 105mm macro, sigma fisheye, SB 800's and lots of other goodies!
  • JKSlusserJKSlusser Registered Users Posts: 7 Beginner grinner
    edited March 3, 2009
    Is it easy to use? User Friendly?
  • catspawcatspaw Registered Users Posts: 1,292 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2009
    The Spyder2Express or Spyder3Pro are very good as well -- the key is to turn off ceiling and other lights so the glare doesn't cause issues. There's more in this older thread:

http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=119970
    //Leah
  • WingsOfLovePhotoWingsOfLovePhoto Registered Users Posts: 797 Major grins
    edited March 3, 2009
    JKSlusser wrote:
    Is it easy to use? User Friendly?

yes...very easy to use. It also will calibrate with ambient light. so if you have windows or lights to deal with it will take that into consideration... basically it just hangs on the front of your screen and the software does the rest!
    Snady :thumb
    my money well spent :D