A few family shots...

bike21bike21 Registered Users Posts: 836 Major grins
edited March 14, 2009 in People
My family was out this week for a ski vacation and my bro and his wife wanted some pics with their son. I was of course happy to oblige and snap a few. Timing was off since their flight got in during the morning and we had to get up to the snow that day. So I had to shoot around 2pm which of course was harsh light. I pulled out the SB600 for some fill flash with the shadows. Not bad though I think...

#1 - tried a little retro look during PP because of the harsh light

490075903_sp5vr-L.jpg

#2 - b/w conversion looked decent I thought

490080583_LU2hA-L.jpg

#3 - you can see how harsh the light really was in this one, but not bad I guess

490076208_dUTUG-L.jpg

C&C welcome, I am still learning about taking portraits and appreciate any input!

Comments

• QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited March 13, 2009
    well besides the obvious over exposure..I think the last 2 could use a crop. Also the dad's head in the last 2 shots is ruining it for me...if you notice in the 1st shot his head/neck is stretched towards the mom and kid. In the last 2 shots the head neck is stretched away from the mom/kid as if he is trying to create distance. Looks awkward and does not promote "family" heh
    D700, D600
    14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
    85 and 50 1.4
    45 PC and sb910 x2
    http://www.danielkimphotography.com
  • HackboneHackbone Registered Users Posts: 4,027 Major grins
    edited March 13, 2009
    On the third on a really nice job of keeping the sky exposure and fill on the subjects. That is a tough on in direct sunlight. Next time look for shaded areas and the squatting is bad posing. Gotta get those rears on the ground.
  • bike21bike21 Registered Users Posts: 836 Major grins
    edited March 13, 2009
    Thanks much for the comments and suggestions!