Options

Sorting Pictures

hnjngohnjngo Registered Users Posts: 83 Big grins
edited March 18, 2009 in Finishing School
Hi im a complete noob at Post production and sorting pictures. At the moment im not sure how I should be going though my pictures to find the keepers and the Junk. I shoot raw and Jpg and windows photo veiwer does not read raw, and when I tried Picasa it was too slow to go though all my picures.

Does anyone know of a good program to sort pictures with? (Preferably that deltes the raw and Jpg at the same time). Or is there a good method that someone would like to share with me.

And What is your Ratio of Keepers and Junk?

Thanks
Current Gear: Canon 40d, Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6, 580EX II
Flickr
Smugmug

Comments

• Options
    divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited March 14, 2009
    Picasa (the program you download). Free, reads raw (at least for my camera), and enables you to easily keep track of photos.

There are plenty of programs for sale out there (not least of which Lightroom), but even though I have both Photoshop and LR, I find I use Picasa for important my images from my camera and keeping track of them.
  • Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited March 14, 2009
    personally I would recommend Adobes Light Room 2 and the Acompanying book by Scott Kelby..........This way you get a fantastic Post Processor and Data basing programs.......Scott kelby takes you thru processing like cooking a recipe for the first time........
    "Genuine Fractals was, is and will always be the best solution for enlarging digital photos." ....Vincent Versace ... ... COPYRIGHT YOUR WORK ONLINE ... ... My Website

• Options
    edited March 14, 2009
    ok thanks. For now, although it is slow going thrugh the picures I'll go though it with picasa.
    Flickr
    Smugmug
  • Options
    Kyle DKyle D Registered Users Posts: 302 Major grins
    edited March 14, 2009
    hnjngo wrote: