Sometimes it pays to ask permission!

Tim KamppinenTim Kamppinen Registered Users Posts: 816 Major grins
edited March 19, 2009 in Sports
I know photographers sometimes live by the maxim "It's easier to ask forgiveness than permission," but I'm happy to report that sometimes asking permission pays off. I've never been much into sports shooting, but thought I'd try my hand at it. I'm a teacher at a very small rural school in upper Michigan, Ewen-Trout Creek HS. The boys basketball team has gone undefeated this season and so I decided to try shooting their district tournament games. The first game I shot, I just had an sb600 on camera, bouncing off a white wall behind the basket. I got some decent shots but realized that I needed a better setup. The next game I bungeed two sb-28's together and held them in my hand, bouncing them off the ceiling and firing them with cactus triggers. The ceiling in that gym was not extremely high (25 ft or so) and it was white. I found that I got some fairly good light doing this, but it was awkward holding the flashes and trying to shoot the camera, and I had to shoot at f/2.8 and ISO 800. Autofocusing at 2.8 with my D40 produced plenty of shots that had imprecise or just plain "off" focus due to the limitations of the camera and the narrow depth of field. The ISO 800 was also pretty noisy, especially since I found myself doing a fair amount of post work to sharpen the photos, etc.

For the next game, I used the two sb28's along with the 600, all on a metal bracket that I rigged up, at the top of a 9.5 ft light stand bouncing off the ceiling. Each flash was at 1/2 power for good recycle rates, and I was able to shoot at f/3.5. Also, by this time I had made my long-intended upgrade to the D90, so my autofocusing was better and the shots were less noisy, though still at ISO 800. With this setup I was able to get some nice shots, like the following:

3362507579_fb7b9b0f05.jpg

3363366266_d09dbdb965.jpg