My first macro... well sort of anyway.

anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
edited March 25, 2009 in Holy Macro
This is my first attempt at this type of photography. I don't think this is considered macro since I didn't take it with a macro lens. I took this with my Sigma DC 17-70mm f/2.8-4.5. It's also my first time ever using my new SB-600 flash remotely. I did very little post on this. I basically cropped the image a bit and adjusted the curves just to add a little pop.

Please, I would really love any and all feedback, pros and cons:

495480567_XCc4s-XL.jpg
"I'm not yelling. I'm Cuban. That's how we talk."

Moderator of the People and Go Figure forums

My Smug Site

Comments

• Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,901 Major grins
    edited March 21, 2009
    Lovely capture- more of a closeup than a macro. Lovely focus. colour, and composition. Good colour contrast means the subject shows up well against the complex background. well done :)
    Brian V.
  • anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
    edited March 21, 2009
    Thanks Brian. I realized this was not a true macro shot but thought this was the best place to post. I really love your photos. I have been very tempted to purchase a macro lens. It seems that often I don't have time to drive someplace to shoot interesting landscapes and such. I have been thinking that macro photography may be something that I can do in the comfort of my backyard when I don't have the time or energy to drive someplace.