Stolen Camera Bag! Help!

johnojohno Registered Users Posts: 617 Major grins
edited March 26, 2009 in Cameras
I'm not sure where to post this, so I'll do it here.

Last week, while returning home from vacation, my family and I stopped for dinner on the way home. When we had returned to our van, the back window was smashed and one camera bag, two laptops and one guitar were gone.

Now I'm going through the insurance form.

Anyone have any idea on what cost to put down for insurance? Both cameras were older, 1D Mark I and 20D. I bought the 20D new and the 1D used, in December.

The insurance form says, "Estimated Price" I bought my 20D new for $1299.95. (I still have the receipt) and today the 20D isn't worth what I paid for it.

What I should put down? I don't even know what a 1D Mark I sold for when it came out.

Also, I'm not a professional... I am a hobby fanatic like most of you. This is all under my home owners insurance and I've heard some good stories and bad. Anyone with a good story?

In all, from lenses, batteries, CF cards, Flash and many more items you can surprisingly fit into a camera bag, the loss is just under $6000

Thanks for the help.
johno~
If we have no peace, it is because we have forgotten that we belong to each other.
~Mother Teresa

Canon 1D Mark II / Canon 50D / Canon 30D / Canon G9
Canon 50mm 1.4
Canon 24-105 f/4 L IS / Canon 70-200 f/2.8 L

blog
johno's gallery

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,082 moderator
    edited March 22, 2009
    Unless you have "replacement" insurance you should report "fair market value" for the equipment.

KEH is a pretty good place to shop for prices. Items should be priced by the components so lenses would be valued separately. You may be requested to provide proof of the values so printouts might be a good idea.