Options

How much to charge for art copy work?

Tim KamppinenTim Kamppinen Registered Users Posts: 816 Major grins
edited March 24, 2009 in Mind Your Own Business
Hello, I'm trying to finally do some paid photography gigs, although I haven't done a lot so far. I'm a teacher at a small rural school in Upper Michigan, and the art teacher here hired me to take photos of her paintings at her home so that she can submit them for art shows, etc. via email. So I went over to her house, photographed approximately 10 pieces, and it took about 2 hrs total including travel time (maybe 15 min). I still need to edit them and put them on a cd to give to her, but I don't think that should take more than about an hour (on my ancient slow computer) considering I'm going to do next to no retouching (just some slight sharpening and maybe contrast adjustments, but I don't want them to come out looking sharper and punchier than the actual paintings, of course). So what I'm wondering is what to charge for this service. Things that I've considered are:

Total time involved: 3 hours (approx.)

Almost no creativity required on my part (just placing my lights to avoid glare from the glass)

Not very difficult overall

The images really have no intrinsic value for me (which is why I'm just giving a CD of files; what am I going to do with photos of someone else's art?)

This is the first time I've actually been hired for a specific job.

She's a coworker.

We live in a very small town where the "going rate" for photography is no where near what it would be in a large city.