Opinions on D200 & D90

XR6MOTOXR6MOTO Registered Users Posts: 20 Big grins
edited April 14, 2009 in Cameras
Hello, I learned about this site from advrider. I'm fairly new to DSLRs but I've been into film photography for over 20 years. I took a break from it for the last few & now looking to get back into shooting again.

A couple of years ago bought a new D70, put it away & never used it until this year. I recently purchased a couple of new VRs lenses (18-55 & 55-200) & have taken a few shots with it. The D70 is nice but as always, the newer Nikons have some improvements that I wish mine had (bigger LCDs, better sensors). The two cameras I was looking at are the D200 & the D90. The D200 has come down in price & the new D90 looks killer for a couple of hundred more.

Pro's for the D200 to me are a bigger viewfinder, metering w/some older non-AF lenses that I already own, better body controls.

For the D90 are an even bigger LCD, better viewfinder, better construction, video is nice (better battery life than the 200).

My options at this point are to stick with my D70, use it until it's worth almost nothing & buy another camera later. Try to sell my D70 while it's still basically "new" (w/under 100 shots) & get $300-350 for it?, buy D90 & sell some of my older non-AF lenses to make up the difference. Or, buy the D200, maybe sell one of my VR lenses & be able to use some of my older ones.

The D90 is the most attractive to me so far.

Opinions?

Comments

• QarikQarik Registered Users Posts: 4,959 Major grins
    edited March 26, 2009
    from an image quality, feature set, and iso capability..the debate is usually between D90 vs D300. Besides weather sealing I don't know if there is single advantage in a D200 vs D90. The D90 is trancends it's price range imo.

If I were you..sell the the D70 and buy the D90.
    D700, D600
    14-24 24-70 70-200mm (vr2)
    85 and 50 1.4
    45 PC and sb910 x2
    http://www.danielkimphotography.com