Blue Screen w/ RAM upgrade

TravisTravis Registered Users Posts: 1,472 Major grins
edited March 27, 2009 in Digital Darkroom
Oddly enough I work in the IT industry but when it comes to computers, I'm an idiot. After having Lightroom crash my pc, I decided last night to upgrade my RAM. I run XP. My original RAM was (2) 1 GB DDR2 6400 strips. I replaced them with (2) 2 GB DDR2 6400 strips. Opened PS CS3, started work, and BAM - blue screen of death. Tried modifying temp memory page file size, etc. but still crashing. Removed new memory, inserted old, and back to normal. Any ideas on how to fix?

Comments

• Mike JMike J Registered Users Posts: 1,029 Major grins
    edited March 26, 2009
    Travis wrote:
    Oddly enough I work in the IT industry but when it comes to computers, I'm an idiot. After having Lightroom crash my pc, I decided last night to upgrade my RAM. I run XP. My original RAM was (2) 1 GB DDR2 6400 strips. I replaced them with (2) 2 GB DDR2 6400 strips. Opened PS CS3, started work, and BAM - blue screen of death. Tried modifying temp memory page file size, etc. but still crashing. Removed new memory, inserted old, and back to normal. Any ideas on how to fix?

I'm no expert here but I would guess that you have a timing issue with the new DIMMs. DDR2-6400 is about as fast as DDR2 technology will go so there is often compatability issues between motherboards and DIMMs.

I would get a copy of memtest86 at http://www.memtest86.com/download.html

Use this file to burn a CD and then you will need to boot from the CD.

Go to the technical info page at http://www.memtest86.com to learn how to run the tests.
    Basically this is going to test your memory to see if the data that is written matches the data that is read. My bet is you are going to see some errors.

If so, then you will probably need to tweak some of the memory timing settings in your BIOS to try to make things work. Heat could also be a problem... Good luck.
    Mike J