Options

Tweaking a photo

canon400dcanon400d Banned Posts: 2,826 Major grins
edited March 29, 2009 in Finishing School
I have tried to lighten or brighten this photo but everything I have tried, I blow out the detail in the small lambs forehead. I am still learning and should I be using masks here or what. I would have thought I could have done this quite easily but even one nudge up in anything I do is blowing the detail out on the wee lamb's face. Here is the shot I am trying to improve it was taken Raw as always. Your help and guidance will be well and truly appreciated for any future similar shots.
Regards
Bob

500136342_7ECoM-L.jpg

Comments

• Options
    edited March 27, 2009
    canon400d wrote:
    I have tried to lighten or brighten this photo but everything I have tried, I blow out the detail in the small lambs forehead. I am still learning and should I be using masks here or what. I would have thought I could have done this quite easily but even one nudge up in anything I do is blowing the detail out on the wee lamb's face. Here is the shot I am trying to improve it was taken Raw as always. Your help and guidance will be well and truly appreciated for any future similar shots.
    Regards
    Bob
    I have the photos the wrong way round but I am sure you can see what I mean.
    500158590_mQ6gv-L.jpg
  • Options
    pathfinderpathfinder Super Moderators Posts: 14,699 moderator
    edited March 27, 2009
    This is precisely what layers and masks are for, Bob. You can make a global alteration and then limit its effect to only selected areas with a mask.

Or another way would be to make a copy of the background layer, do your curves to brighten the image, and then use the history brush to paint back in the detail in the kids head from the unchanged background layer.
    Pathfinder - www.pathfinder.smugmug.com

Moderator of the Technique Forum and Finishing School on Dgrin
  • Options
    TonyCooperTonyCooper Registered Users Posts: 2,276 Major grins