Sensor damage?

KiloKilo Registered Users Posts: 210 Major grins
edited April 4, 2009 in Cameras
I've been trying to learn more on my own and understand the three basics of photography... Aperture, ISO, Shutter Speed.

So a few days ago, I was on the backyard taking test shots of the sun setting behind trees. I had it set on M and the first shot was all black, of course. Then I had dropped down the shutter's speed. Every shot afterwards got brighter to where I could see the sunset and trees. I ended dropping it down to 1/30 sec, and no flash.

Then yesterday, I went upon a hill to shoot another sunset, (no trees this in the way this time). I kept on dropping the shutter speed each time until I tried 8 seconds. It came out all white, and as soon as I saw the exposure was all white, I immediately wondered if I had hurt the sensor?

I'm no pro—just a novice, so I don't know what made me think of such a thing, since I don't know much about cameras; and no one ever told me not to ever take long exposures of light, (although the sunset wasn't bright).

The sun didn't hurt my eyes, not even when I looked through the view-finder at 135mm. I did see a glow in my eyes after looking, but it did not hurt, but I still wonder if it hurt the sensor.

It still seems to be working, but do you think it won't take as good of pictures now, now that I've taken an 8 second exposure of the sunset? Should I have it looked at and tested at a shop?

I was just trying to learn on my own how to use full-manual and also not have to use the flash all the time.

Thanks!
ʞ1└0

Comments

• Cygnus StudiosCygnus Studios Registered Users Posts: 2,294 Major grins
    edited March 31, 2009
    A quick search through google says that long exposures of the sun can damage the sensor.
    Doesn't seem to have an exact time on exposure, so take it for what its worth.

I think that it is probably wise to be safe. No direct sun shots.