help! lens and general advice needed!

cdubcdub Registered Users Posts: 123 Major grins
edited April 1, 2009 in People
Hi everyone,

I'm not a pro, but I like to think I know my way around a camera. That said, I have been presented with my biggest challenge to date.

I've been asked to follow and shoot a political leader's visit to my city in a few days. I will be following him to a luncheon, various photo opps, and finally a fundraiser dinner. I took some photos recently that were well regarded by his team and largely because I'm a volunteer, they asked me to take this on. I'll fly solo on this project, and will have access in and above what the media get.

What I need help with is lenses, and also any general advice you can give for any of the unpredictable circumstances that may arise. I'm shooting with a 5D mark II and currently only a 24-105 F4 L IS lens. I'm thinking that at the indoor opportunities, such as the luncheon and the evening fundraiser, I'll need to have a much faster lens - like a 50 1.2 L, or another fast prime. I will certainly rent one for this... Question is, which one? The 135 might make sense, but I might need a wider angle due to proximity...

Can anyone offer any insight? If anyone has ever shot under conditions like this, or fulfilled a shoot like this, I would definitely appreciate hearing any and all advice. Thank you in advance!
:huh
CW
(shoot first, then ask questions)

www.cdub.ca | www.cdubphoto.smugmug.com | Twitter | Canon 5DII + Canon 24-105 f/4 L, Canon 580EX II, Gitzo GT1541 + Acratech GV2L

Comments

• divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited March 31, 2009
    I recently shot in VERY dark circumstances with the usm 85 1.8 and it performed extremely well. Here's the thread http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=125384 which shows the truly horrendous lighting and what the lens managed to do despite conditions.