Options

Need your opinion on Technique

anonymouscubananonymouscuban Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 4,586 Major grins
edited April 11, 2009 in Finishing School
Not sure if any of you have been in the same boat as I am right now. I have quite a few digital-darkroom tools at my disposal but have never really taken any formal courses or siminars on using them. I am also relatively new to the whole digital scene.

When I do post on my images, I make the adjustments based on what looks best to my own eyes. However, I question whether I know what just looks good to me but may be over processed to others. I'm hoping you guys can help me out a bit with a critique of this image, just from a post perspective, and give me direction on what I can do to improve.

Here is the image straight out of the camera. All I did was convert it from RAW to JPG.

505137809_TvWu2-L-1.jpg

Here is the image after post:

505139484_PvXiG-L-1.jpg

Here are the steps I took in post, all done in LR2 & CS3:
  1. I adjusted the WB in LR because it seemed a bit yellow to me
  2. Then I correct the exposure since it was a been underexposed, again in LR
  3. I then drop the image into CS3 and adjusted the curves to increase contrast... seemed a bit on the flat side
  4. I created a dup layer and selected the dog using the Quick Selection tool, then shapened only the dog to give more detail in the fur
  5. I then created another layer and inverted the selection and blurred the background using a Gaussian Blur. I set the opacity of the blurred background to around 80% and then cloned a bit of halo around the dog that was created when I added the blur. I blurred the background because I found it a bit distracting after I corrected the exposure, especially the white moulding.
That's it. I would really appreciate your feedback. It looks good to me so maybe I nailed it. But again, I'm wanting some feedback because I am not sure if I am just overprocessing because I have the tools. :scratch