Which is the lens I should get?

deegeedeegee Registered Users Posts: 69 Big grins
edited April 26, 2009 in Cameras
Hi All!

I absolutely love my canon 50 mm lens for portraits on my rebel xti. I am trying to decide which zoom lens will be my next purchase. I'm looking for something that I can use indoors with babies or outdoors with a large group.

I'd like to stay under $450 or there abouts. From the posts I've read it sounds like the Tamron 28-75 2.8 might be perfect for me.

I realize I'm a newbie here, but in my searches I've found various versions of the above lens and I'm hoping someone can educate me on the difference between these two Tamron 28-75 2.8 lenses:scratch

http://www.abesofmaine.com/item.do?item=TM2875XRAFC&id=TM2875XRAFC

http://www.amazon.com/Tamron-28-75mm-Aspherical-Digital-Cameras/dp/B0000A1G05

I'm not sure what all of the letters following the lens mean. THanks for helping me learn!

Comments

• Tee WhyTee Why Registered Users Posts: 2,390 Major grins
    edited April 7, 2009
    While that tamron is a very nice lens, a 28mm on a cropped sensor like the XTi may not be wide enough for a group photo.

I'd probably recommend a Tamron 17-50mm f2.8. It's made specifically for the smaller image circle of a APS-C/cropped sensor like the XTi and mimics on a cropped sensor the field of view that a 28-75 would yield on a traditional 35mm film slr/full frame cameras.

Good luck.
  • amg2833amg2833 Registered Users Posts: 155 Major grins
    edited April 7, 2009
    Tee Why wrote:
    While that tamron is a very nice lens, a 28mm on a cropped sensor like the XTi may not be wide enough for a group photo.

I'd probably recommend a Tamron 17-50mm f2.8. It's made specifically for the smaller image circle of a APS-C/cropped sensor like the XTi and mimics on a cropped sensor the field of view that a 28-75 would yield on a traditional 35mm film slr/full frame cameras.

Good luck.